Thoughts Upon Seeing “Haute Tension”

Dismay, disgust and disdain at the slaughter of a family

Decapitation, mutilation, overkill à la Grand Guignol

I cover my eyes but peek between my fingers

Fountains of gore cannot quench the implacable blood-lust,

Pathetic cries cannot sway the  impervious evil of

the killer

French poster for

French poster for “Haute Tension” (2003) featuring an image of the Killer

Saturated with the cruor of his kills he opts for take-out

A fettered female is tossed into his ancient van

He is cocky and cruel, but also heedless

He is being tracked by a hip sexy heroine, come to fight for her beloved

Or is she just shadowboxing?

USA poster for stateside release in 2005, featuring the heroine, Marie

USA poster for stateside release in 2005, featuring the heroine, Marie

At turns titillating and horripilating, the story twists and flips

Leaving one numb and disoriented

When I close my eyes I see gory images running in a loop

Like carrion birds circling their supper

I will never see France the same way again

Leave a comment