Women Wielding Words in the Alley (10-07-14)

Last night, I had a personal wish fulfilled when my friend, who for privacy reasons I shall simply refer to as Hydroxia, read “The Bed” and “Luvian’s Pelt” (a sequel to “The Bed”) from my “Greenwood Manse” poetry cycle at the “Women Wielding Words” event at A Shot of Java in Glendale. I wrote these narrative poems in first person as if a young woman, who is never named, is relating family lore to you, the reader. The stories take place in a roughly Victorian setting and vampires, werewolves and witchcraft abound throughout; the female characters do shine, albeit with a dark light, despite the repressive society and time period they live in and there is much dark humor and myriad references to classic horror tropes.

I wrote these poems in the early 1990’s and have always wanted to hear them being read by a woman, as I always feel awkward as a middle-aged man saying lines like “…For I am a smart young lass; virginal, pious, and pure as the snow white dove.”  Hydroxia finally scratched that itch.

She did a great job reading the poems, as well as two Hallowe’en themed haikus of her own creation, and even dressed for the occasion in appropriately spooky glamor with an elegant dress that would befit a vampiric countess, spider earrings and a choker (to hide her tell-tale puncture wounds?). If I ever finish the third installment in the series, I shall definitely ask her to debut it for me as well.

If you haven’t read it already, here is a link to a previous post which features the actual poem “Luvian’s Pelt”: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2012/08/23/birth-of-h-p-lovecraft-party-082012/

Hydroxia reads

Hydroxia reads “The Bed” and “Luvian’s Pelt” from my “Greenwood Manse” poetry cycle.

One Response to “Women Wielding Words in the Alley (10-07-14)”

Leave a Reply

