Ode to Stout

During the early oughts, I took a couple of semesters at Broward Community College, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, While there, I took a creative writing course which proved to be one of my favorite courses during my time at BCC. During the course of the semester, I wrote several pieces which I still share and read in public to this day. Gothilocks, Travels with Gigi, and Black Hymeneal are just a few of the pieces I wrote during this prolific time for me, and of course, there is Ode to Stout.

What began as a writing assignment turned into one of my favorite poems. Anyone who follows my blog or has seen me read at the local open mics is aware of my love for Gothic Horror and Dark Fantasy, but if you know me personally, you know that I am a big foodie as well. I love to cook and I love to eat! Although I am not a big drinker, by any stretch, I do enjoy a good glass of wine (preferably red), a sweet hard cider, or a good pint of ale. One of my favorites is stout ale, particularly Guinness.

A promotional poster showing how to pull a perfect pint of Guinness.

A promotional poster showing how to pull a perfect pint of Guinness.

Having lived through most of the 90’s in Boston, I developed a taste for it, which has stayed with me ever since. I remember how in some Irish pubs they would even make a little shamrock with the foam at the top of the head, which never ceased to amuse me.

shamrock pint

A “shamrock-ed” pint of Guinness

The assignment was to compare two things that seem unrelated and show how they are similar. I started comparing stout ale to dark chocolate, but it soon turned into just a tribute to stout. The poem went over well in class and my professor even recommended I send it as an entry for a contest to win a pub in Ireland but, alas, the contest had been closed for sometime when I looked it up. Still, I have the poem and now I shall share it with you:

“Ode to Stout”

Stout is like a chocolate drink, semi-sweet and well nigh black
Delectable amaritude in creamy bitter draught
Sweet unmalted barley wort, cordial cocoa quaff
Heavy, almost viscous, seen darkly through the glass
Liquid velvet, hazy curtain, obfuscates the eyes
Tawny lips, the foamy kiss, a bitter-sweet goodbye

me, a few years ago, having a pint of Guinness at the Rúla Búla Irish Pub in Tempe, Arizona.

Me, a few years ago, having a pint of Guinness at the Rúla Búla Irish Pub in Tempe, Arizona.

 

Leave a Reply

