Thalía

Whilst working on my upcoming poetry collection, “Black Hymeneal”, it came to my attention that I have never shared this poem before on my blog. I wrote the poem (loosely) in terza rima to try something new and I think it worked out nicely. In fact, it is one of my favorite pieces that I have written, and I have read it at many a poetry open mic. I never posted it here because, until recently, I couldn’t decide what to call it. It was written a few years ago when I got stuck on a plot point for a short story of the same name. In the tale, a young Mexican-American girl decides to take a trip to her ancestral home in Oaxaca, Mexico, where she is kidnapped by a cult who try to sacrifice her to the bat god Camazotz. She survives the ordeal, but is irreversibly altered. One can guess from the contents of this poem, what has become of our hapless heroine…

The Mayan bat god, Camazotz.

The Mayan bat god, Camazotz.

Thalía

Reposing in her blood-stained blouse

Thalía dreams of sanguine gods,

Giant bats, and the narrow house

Surrounded by worm-ridden clods

She ponders her appalling fate

Wondering at the remote odds

Of how she came unto this state

Between the curtain and the quick

Vexed by a thirst she cannot sate

For blood that gushes warm and slick

From riven throats that gurgle cries

Claret bubblers to lap and lick

As conscious life slips from their eyes

Each victim shudders ere he dies

Thalía smacks her lips and sighs

Leave a Reply

