Casanegra Poetry Cycle

Casanegra Entertainment Logo.

Casanegra Entertainment Logo.

Sometime around 2006, I was turned on to the Casanegra DVD reissues of remaster and restored prints of films from the Golden Age of Mexican Horror. These movies were inspired by the success of the Universal Monster movies and have a similar look to them, only with a distinctly Mexican vibe. Before the genre was inundated with monster rallies and luchadores, they produced some really great Gothic Horrors using the local lore. Alongside  vampires and werewolves were La Llorona, brujas, and the Aztec Mummy.

“La Maldicion de la Llorona” (a/k/a The Curse of the Crying Woman”), “El Espejo de la Bruja” (a/k/a “The Witch’s Mirror”), “El Baron del Terror” (a/k/a “Brainiac”), etc., I loved these films, and looked forward to subsequent releases as they were announced in the horror trade magazines. Ultimately, however, they went belly up and couldn’t find a backer to save them. The worst part is that they were on the verge of releasing a new batch of titles, which I had been dying to see, but they were never released.

Feeling a void in my heart for this distinctly Latin style of Gothic Tale, I was inspired to write my own stories and poetry to fill the void and make tribute to these classic films. One of the first attempts was what I provisionally titled my “Southwestern Gothic Tale”. I got about a third of the way through and got bogged down with direction and it languished for years. Like my story “Thalia”, I decided to write poems about the characters to solidify in my mind their respective traits and motivations. What follows are links to the poems I wrote about the three main characters, Altagracia (our doomed heroine), her aunt Lupe (the sympathetic monster), and Dimas Akelarre (the true villain of the tale). I have since decided to call the story “Casanegra” in honor of it’s inspiration, and these are the poems it has birthed:

Altagracia’s Lament: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2015/09/22/altagracias-lament/

Lupe: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2015/09/21/lupe/

Dimas Akelarre ; https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2015/09/22/dimas-akelarre/

Below are links to excerpts of the original tale which I have posted on this blog:

Southwestern Gothic Tale Excerpt: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/excerpt-from-my-southwestern-gothic-tale/

Southwestern Gothic Tale Part 2: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/part-2-of-my-southwestern-gothic-tale/

Southwestern Gothic Tale Part 3: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/part-3-of-my-southwestern-gothic-tale/

Leave a Reply

