Rumpelforeskin / Ride My Grill / Truth Cake

Rumpelforeskin

Chorus: Uncut I’ll go as uncut I came, for Rumpelforeskin is my name

I reside in the dark woods, so’s I can hide my prepuce goods

Guard my name ‘n’ what’s in my pants, As ’round a flame I jovially dance

Chorus

Tho’ most baby boys’re clipped when they’re born, my Rumpelforeskin tip won’t be shorn

Circumcision is not my game, that’s my decision, as says my name

Chorus

Once just the Jews would get theirs clipped, now other boys too are doomed to be snipped

Nary a child gets spared from the clippers, hardly one’s left that’s still got his tipper

Chorus

So I’m hoping this royal dame continues groping for my ol’ name*

And I’ll go on just doing my dance with my uncut piece in my pants

* I am surprised that I didn’t make a sophomoric pun about the groping dame somewhere in the subsequent lines. I guess I was so concerned with making the parallel allusion to the Rumpelstiltskin tale that I didn’t see the opportunity at hand.

Illustration, by Edward Gorey, of Rumpelstiltskin dancing around the fire, singing the song that gives him away.

Illustration, by Edward Gorey, of Rumpelstiltskin dancing around the fire, singing the song that gives him away.

Truth Cake

Chop it up, serve it up, won’t you have a slice? Truth cake is bitter fare and never tastes so nice

Here’s a cup o’ bile, to wash the pastry down, now let it sink into your maw then slosh* it all around

Chorus {2 X}: Truth Cake. Truth Cake. Sticking in your throat / Much harder words to swallow than the lies we live by rote

Feel it rising up your throat as your stomach heaves it’s last, Truth Cake is unpalatable and ne’er a good repast

Throughout our lives we often find the Truth is hard to swallow, but I’d rather choke than wear the yoke of a life, through lies, made shallow

* for the sake of disclosure, I changed that word to “slosh” from “splash”, as I transcribed it from my little book of poems. I thought it a more appropriate word for conveying the idea I wished to put across.

Poster for the 1977 Horror film "The Car".

Poster for the 1977 Horror film “The Car”.

Ride My Grill

Driving down our nation’s highways, looking for a thrill

Cruising down the roads and byways searching for a kill

Hey there little hitchhiker, indulge me, if you will

Come step in front of my machine; say, won’t you ride my grill?

Chorus: Won’t you ride my grill? / Baby needs make her kill / Baby must quench her thirst / And don’t you know that baby always comes first

She’ll grind your bones to make her bread, she’ll drink your blood for tea

Shell back up just to crush your head with sanguinary glee

I dream about us all the time–you running from me

But my bet is I’ll get you yet to fall in front of me

Chorus

Here are links to related posts:

No Candy from Courtney: https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2015/10/27/no-candy-from-courtney/

The 40 Grit / Rumpelforeskin story:https://mannysbookofshadows.wordpress.com/2015/11/08/40-grit-rumpelforeskin/

2 Responses to “Rumpelforeskin / Ride My Grill / Truth Cake”

  1. […] The Dark Effusions of a Macabre Versifier « Rumpelforeskin / Ride My Grill / Truth Cake […]

Leave a Reply

