Fragments for the Griff

Fragment #1

My hummingbird heart races in my chest, where you lay your ivory cheek

I take in the heady fragrance of your titian crown and respire slowly to slacken my pulse

As I look across the darkened room to the flickering light on an adjacent chair

I make note of this perfect moment and exhale a happy sigh

Fragment #2

I miss her hair, I miss her face

I miss her awkward gangling grace

I miss it all, but of all the misses

The thing I miss most are her fairy kisses

Fragment #3

I just want to set the world on fire

In tribute to  my love which smolders on a funeral pyre

Then I’ll fiddle and play as it burns away, with my congeries of untapped desires

I just want to set your heart on fire

With the ardor of my gambol and gyre

Fiddling out woe on my heart-strung bow, as the devil joins in on a lyre

This is a drawing I did back in 1991, which I call "Pelirroja con araña", or "Redhead with spider". Whenever I see it now, it reminds me of my friend Hydroxia.

This is a drawing I did back in 1991, which I call “Pelirroja con araña”, or “Redhead with spider”. Whenever I see it now, it reminds me of my friend Hydroxia.

One Response to “Fragments for the Griff”

  1. […] Dark Effusions of a Macabre Versifier « Story-time 11-21-15: Booksgiving Fragments for the Griff […]

Leave a Reply

